Back to site

Alice Donut - Pure Acid Park (CD 1997)

Image of Alice Donut - Pure Acid Park (CD 1997)


Track Listing

1. Millennium
2. Dreaming In Cuban
3. Freaks In Love
4. Big Cars And Blow Jobs
5. I Walked With A Zombie
6. Senator And The Cabin Boy
7. Mummenschantz Pachinko
8. Insane
9. Shining Path
10. Unspeakable Pleasure Of Being Me
11. Lost In Space
12. Cain

Number of CDs: 1
Recording Type: Studio
EAN: 5016691016324

Album Notes
Alice Donut: Tomas Antona, David Giffen, Michael Jung, Richard Mather Marshall IV, Stephen Moses, Sissi Schulmeister.Recorded at B.C. Studios, Brooklyn, New York in March 1995.All songs written by Alice Donut except "I Walked With A Zombie" (Roky Erikson).

This CD is brand new

Alice Donut is a rock and roll band from New York City. Formed in 1986, disbanded in 1996, and re-formed in 2001, the band toured vigorously and broke up after their 1000th live performance. Between 1987 and 1996, Alice Donut released seven full-length albums and around 15 EPs, singles, and other releases on Jello Biafra's Alternative Tentacles label and various other labels.

2004's Three Sisters, their first release after their hiatus, was recorded as a four-piece with Tom Antona on vocals, Michael Jung on guitar, Stephen Moses on drums and Sissi Schulmeister on bass. Guitarist Dave Giffen rejoined the group for Fuzz, which was recorded in Brooklyn's BC Studio with longtime co-producer Martin Bisi and released on September 05, 2006.

The band's style and lyrics are eclectic. Their music is a mixture of hard rock, punk, and post-punk and typically features melodic, guitar-heavy, odd-metered, and rhythm based pieces and is often punctuated with brass instrumentation. Many of the members are traditionally- or classically-trained musicians, though rarely on the same instruments they play in the band.

Alice Donut's lyrics take on what they view as the perversities, odd details, and petty humiliations of life. Their lyrical subject matter focuses on topics including depravity, domestic violence, and sexuality, reflected in songs like "My Life is a Mediocre Piece of Shit" and "The Son Of A Disgruntled X-Postal Worker Reflects On His Life While Getting Stoned In The Parking Lot Of A Winn Dixie Listening To Metallica".