Back to site

Johnny Foreigner - Johnny Foreigner Vs Everything CD

Image of Johnny Foreigner -  Johnny Foreigner Vs Everything CD


Audio CD (7 Nov 2011)
Number of Discs: 1
Format: CD
Label: Alcopop

Johnny Foreigner return with their third album proper, Johhny Foreigner vs. Everything , released through Alcopop! on November 7th. Speaking about their new album, guitarist and singer Alexei says: "We are bursting with excitement to be able to start talking about our wonderful record. It was made this spring and summer in our hometown by our old friend Dominique James, and will be released november 7th on Alcopop. it's going to be called Johnny Foreigner vs Everything. "We started writing it two years ago, and staggered recording and mixing over 5 months. the title came first. This is the first full length record we've made without a grammy - nominated producer, without contracts and new york and professionals. the biggest challenge we've faced as a band, and the worst thing about leaving the world of corporate-funded labels, was knowing that sooner or later we'd come to this point; having to make a way better record for a way worse budget... and i'm beyond proud to say that i think thats exactly what us and dom have achieved. we've made the record that sounds like we do in our heads." A mix of their usual, frantic indie-rock, influenced by the likes of Pavement, Meneguar and Cap'n Jazz, and elsewhere the more reserved, hushed tones of Sparklehorse and Wilco, the album finds the band on arguably their finest form yet. Dynamically their most varied record, it's difficult to pick highlights on an album that is full of them. From the familiar noise-pop of With Who , Electricity vs The Dead and Hulk Hoegaarden, Gin Kinsella, David Duvodkany etc. to the more controlled melodies that drive first single (Don't) show us your fangs , the wonderful, horn driven Jess, you got yr song, now leave and the anthemic second half of New Street, you can take it , the record doesn't ever let up on the quality. 200x brings to mind the likes of Minus The Bear and Doesn't Believe In Angels and Johnny Foreigner vs You are just, well, beautiful. Under the pressure of recording an album on a budget but with as supportive a fanbase as ever, Johnny Foreigner vs. Everything will more than satisfy those fans and hopefully make them many new ones. A tracklisting full of small victories, Johnny Foreigner might feel like they're at war, but right now they're only winning their battles.

1. "If Im The Most Famous Boy You've Fucked, Then Honey, Yr In Trouble" 2:08
2. "With Who, Who and What I've Got" 3:00
3. "200X" 3:41
4. "Hulk Hoegaarden, Gin Kinsella, David Duvodkany, Etc" 3:53
5. "Johnny Foreigner vs You" 3:22
6. "Concret1" 1:36
7. "Electricity vs the Dead" 2:44
8. "Jess, You Got Yr Song, So Leave" 4:09
9. "Supermorning" 4:02
10. "What Drummers Get" 2:41
11. "New Street, You Can Take It" 3:58
12. "Concret2" 1:26
13. "(Don't) Show Us Your Fangs" 2:48
14. "You vs Everything" 3:16
15. "Doesn't Believe in Angels" 3:34
16. "The Swell/Like Neverwhere" 6:22
17. "Alternate Timelines Piling Up" 3:31